Double Concentration

If a student has completed the requirements for two or more concentrations within the same baccalaureate degree (e.g., two concentrations for the same B.S. degree) for the same graduation application period, those concentrations shall be acknowledged on a single diploma and on the student's transcripts. Each concentration, not including courses in preparation for or in support of the major, generally must consist of at least 12 units that are completely separate and distinct from the other concentration. Individual degree programs may set higher limits for the number of units that are completely separate and distinct from concentration to the other. Exceptions to allow two concentrations with fewer than 12 units unique to each concentration will require the approval of both the appropriate College Associate Dean and the Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies. The University has the right to restrict students from pursuing double concentrations, particularly when resources must be equitably distributed among all students.